Brief History of the Château and the Museum
The house, which shelters the Beaulne Museum familiarly known as "Château Norton" was constructed in 1912. At the time, it served as second home in the Norton family. Arthur-Osmore Norton, the father, had his office, where he led the business.
In 1881, Arthur-Osmore Norton already lived in Coaticook on Union Street, in front of the existing Museum. After purchasing adjacent lots, he built his new home in 1912. The architectural style of this building is unique and is typical of the Neo-Queen Anne style. The roof and exterior walls are covered with brown wood shingles characteristic of the Shingle style. Both styles reflect the American eclectic style. The wide balconies, fenestration, fieldstone, and gables all contribute to its uniqueness and splendor.
In 1942, Norton's two children, Harry and Mary Helen, bequeathed the Château to the Anglican Church of Canada. The church moved its boarding school for young girls, Bishop Mountain Hall, from Quebec City to Coaticook. Many young Anglophones throughout the province boarded there until the Hall's closure in 1968. Subsequently, residents of the Dixville Home resided in the Château for a few years.
Denise Beaulne was the first person in charge of the Museum that was founded in 1964 and was located above City Hall and subsequently in the Françoise-Maurice Library building. Her numerous acquaintances with both English and French families, her interest in cultural heritage and her dedication, were instrumentalin the key development of the institution that bears her name. The Museum was moved to the Château in 1976 after the municipality of Coaticook purchased the building.